Posted by: lapazfarm | January 1, 2010

Collaborators needed!

Well, here I am surrounded by boxes and fixing to head back to Alaska. I will be pretty much swamped with all things U-Haul for the next few weeks, but I don’t want to let my fieldworkers down and leave them lesson planless for the next month. (Planless is apparently not a word. Ha! They don’t know me very well, do they?)

So…I am going to need a little help from some of you other awesome fieldworkers out there.

No, I won’t ask you to pack dishes or sort books (though that would be great!LOL!). What I need is someone (or some two) to help out by taking over writing plans for the next two units of Fieldwork.

Cooperation makes it happen, people!

Any takers? It’s really pretty simple. Just go through the Seaside Naturalist book and pick out the important points, make suggestions for field studies, and point us at a few nifty websites or other resources. Tadah! You’ve done it! (And I may pop in with a suggestion or two as well, so don’t feel you have to totally go it alone.)

So… What say you? Anyone feel strongly about Arthropods and the poles? How about  Echinoderms and tide pools?

Just let me know via comment or email (lapazfarm at yahoo dot com) and I’ll set you up with a password so you can guest blog! (and I can get back to my packing tape and sharpies)

Oh, and if anyone wants to do a round-up post, that’d be great, too. We haven’t had one of those in a while!

Oh, and thanks a million!

See you in Alaska!

Responses

  1. Echinoderms and tide pools? Love them. May I chime in even though I’m not homeschooling? I’d be happy to try my hand at making a lesson plan; we love the beach and tidepools! Plus, I bought the book a while back.

    Just let me know.

    • Yes! Susan that would be awesome!!!! I’ll email you with the password stuff!

  2. Theresa, I can’t believe you all are coming back! It is cold here right now. but maybe not so much in sitka. Hey I love your site here, do you think it is feasible to do this study here where I am? We are off to Hawaii next week for a vacation I plan on getting the seaside book. But from your experience I was wondering what you thought. Can’t wait to hear from you.

    Karrie

    • I’m not sure if you can do it from Fairbanks, Karrie. Though you may be able to do a bit of it in Hawaii! Wow! That sounds great! Have fun!

  3. Theresa,

    I’ll post our plans. There are several issues. Although we are “ahead” that won’t be the case as we are spending more time per phylum and are skipping birds completely. We are beginning arthropoda this week.

    EV

    • That’s great, Elizabeth. I’ll email you with the password info. Thanks so much!

      • Thank you so much ladies! Elizabeth, I have some websites I found on Arthropods and the poles that I’ll send you.

        Theresa, I hope your move goes smoothly. Thank you for all you do here.


Leave a Reply

Categories

