Posted by: lapazfarm | September 7, 2009

Ready for weeks 2 and 3??

We are!

Week 1 went really well. It was a nice easy start to get us back into the school groove. Superboy did his tasks fairly easily. He measured the wave length, height, etc against the jetty wall at our neighborhood beach. We had teeny tiny waves, so it wasn’t much to measure, but the point was to measure what you had, no matter the size, and his method worked just fine, so it’s all good! The hardest part of this week for him I think was getting up early enough to catch the early high tide !LOL! And then when he did, he forgot to get the late high tide in the evening! Eventually he was able to get measurements for both high tides in a single day in order to compare them.

Remember you have 2 weeks to work on the next set of lessons, so take your time, plan it out and have fun!

p.s. don’t forget to be working on your shell collection! Collect and identify a few each week and it will be much easier than waiting for the last week to do it all!

Responses

  1. Well, sadly we did not get to measure our waves yet as our beach was closed due to the cougar on the loose at our park. Thankfully the big fella has been caught and “relocated” so I’m planning to get down there this week and do both the waves and the tides :)) Looking forward to weeks 2 and 3!

    • Cougar on the loose seems like a pretty good excuse to me!LOL!

  2. I love this!!! I feel guilty having free access to all your amazing hard work. My son is only 2 so by the time we are ready for your fieldwork I imagine you’ll have done a few more subjects worked out. This is a great resource! Thanks for sharing!!
    PS I linked from Bakers Dozen.

  3. Oh my goodness, This is exactly what I have been looking for my high schooler. I love it can’t wait to see more.

    • Thanks, Stephanie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

